Morning Pages 2/2; Weeble Wobble

The teacher as a writer pose is one that is often overlooked by many English teachers. It is assumed that all that must be taught in writing is where to use a coma, when to you a semicolon, and how to write a basic five paragraph essay. While these are important skills for students to learn in school, there is much more for them to learn about writing. There are countless genres, even within the rhetorical branch of writing, that are overlooked by secondary educators often leaving students at a disadvantage. It is my job as a future educator to learn about this pose and instruct my students on many aspects of writing.

The pose is a difficult one to take because it isn’t well known. There isn’t much history or instruction on how you are meant to assume it. The area I feel I will wobble the most is understanding how crucial having a writing identity is to an equitable education for my students. Even though I’d like to say I think outside of the box, much of my own ideas for writing assignments, particularly assignments that assess student’s progress, relate back to the standard five paragraph essay. While it is important for my student to know how to construct an essay like this, it may not be a true identity they can grasp onto. Not every student is the same, therefore, I can not expect all of my students to identify with rhetorical writing. If I make this assumption I will be taking away the equity from my students and that will be an extreme fault on my own part. This is an area I will wobble in.

Regardless of how I wobble, because I will, I plan on getting through it as best as I can. I will remain confident in my teaching and bring in multiple genres of writing into my classroom. Instead of assigning an argumentative essay for every book we read, I may have students jump into the mind of the main character and write a memoir of their life using evidence from the text. or I may chose to have my students write an alternate ending to a book. There are many ways to go about broadening my scope as a teacher and I feel comfortable knowing that I will be able to get through it with my students.

3 thoughts on “Morning Pages 2/2; Weeble Wobble

  1. I LOVE the idea of having students write an alternate ending to a book. Dibs on using it in the future. DIBS. That’s probably our most important role as future teachers, to learn the cutting edge techniques and ideas for different types of learners and then use those to foster learning in our respective classrooms.

    Like

  2. I totally understand that struggle to think outside of the box and be inventive with assignments, as that’s something I am fully aware that I will struggle with too when I become a teacher. It’s a matter of being able to let go of that structure that has become so familiar to us, and it is a positively terrifying thought since we don’t have a guaranteed or predictable outcome. But without being willing to wobble in our own closely-held notions, then what good will we truly be to future generations?

    Like

  3. I really like how honest you are in this. You admit you are going to wobble, because basically it is inevitable. I think your ideas for different ways to approach topics is very important because when kids are stuck with the mundane, they are more likely to zone out and not appreciate what they are learning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

