Finalizing my Project

I HAVE MADE IT! I want to climb the tallest mountain in the world and scream of my successes right now. Yes, I am over exaggerating, but I don’t care. I have never felt so relieved or accomplished. Now that this project is done, I have so much more energy to focus on other, less stressful things. Of the most relaxing things to focus on, I have the glory that is spring break. Can we just appreciate how this break could not come at a better time? There is a reason why I prefer second semester to first and it is simple—the break comes at a much better time compared to Winter Break or Thanksgiving break. Never have I needed a break more. It’s not all because of this project either (surprising right?). With how much I have complained on this blog, I am sure that comes as a shock to most, specifically the members of the infamous s^3.

Speaking of, I have appreciated their input and overall attitude so much through this process. They made class so enjoyable, always making my day better when I didn’t think it could improve. Especially on my birthday. I didn’t say it then, but I had woken up so upset that day and ya’ll just made it better. Really everyone in that class is so amazing and always makes me laugh, which is something that means the world to me. All of the positivity in that room was so beneficial to my ability to actually complete this project. While my group members could have read my work and criticized the crap out of it (thank you for not doing that, though), they instead showed me what was good about the work I was putting forward, while also adding what could be improved on. I’ve never had feedback as helpful as theirs on an academic project I have ever worked on. I’m so thankful that they took my work seriously and moved beyond unhelpful comments like: ‘good work’ or ‘nice’. If they liked something, they explained what it added to the piece and their reading of it. If they thought something could be added, they gave me examples or suggestions for my improvement. THANK YOU GUYS SO MUCH.

Also, I’d like to apologize for all of the negativity that I put forward. I hope that it didn’t effect s^3 and the class in a poor way. I know we were all frustrated through much of this project, but I would never want my complaints and frustrations to rub off on someone that was feeling good about the work they were producing. Even in my negativity ya’ll were so supportive of me, specifically Cole and Lauren. Every comment ya’ll left on anything (my blog, my work, or even the daily log, #lobserworthy) was so helpful to my process. I really appreciate the support you were able to give me. Nothing is worse than someone trying to minimize your negative feelings; the phrase, “Just be more positive,” is easily the worst thing that I can read/hear. Thank you for never making me feel like my emotions weren’t justified.

I will admit that I am sick of writing about this project, specifically now that I am done with my memoir. I don’t feel like reflecting on it here, as I already have done this in my reflective letter, so I apologize if this blog post has very little to do with my project. I’m really trying to focus on the positivity and good vibes in this post; I feel like that is something my blog has been greatly lacking as of recently and I am seeking to change that. It’s a lot easier to do that now that I’m not stressing out about deadlines, I will admit. Stress doesn’t make me into a ray of sunshine, that much is certain. So in the spirit of ‘TMSG’ time, allow me to tell you something good, or rather a great number of good somethings.

  1. We are all done with this project now, and that is something that should make all of us want to dance around like its the last day on Earth. Reveal in the positive vibes of this moment.
  2. Now that I am on break, I’m going to have the time to read books for pleasure rather than school.
  3. To go along with reading for pleasure, I am also going to try and write for pleasure as well. I have been greatly neglecting this aspect of my life and don’t want to do this any longer.
  4. At the exact moment I am writing this, my dog is sitting in my lap. I haven’t seen him in nearly two months so this is one of the biggest highlights of my month. Dogs are life.
  5. I’m feeling happy, and that is the most important part of all of this

 

So everyone, I am so happy to say that we have made it to this moment, and boy do we all deserve it. We have all worked so hard, and while this project is entirely individual, I can’t help but feel that there is a collective reward for our class as a whole. I wish I would have been able to see everyone’s project. I would have loved to hear Jalie’s radio cast (I’m sure that’s not the official name, but you get what I mean) or read Charlie’s final screenplay. Everyone put so much effort into their work and I feel like I should have read it all, just to show my support to all of my classmates. The support of my group members, the class, and Aaron in particular, is what got me through my own project. I wish I could extend that to everyone else. Alas, I am a single person, and I think I would explode if I had to try and focus anymore on school. I have officially reached my limit for this half of the semester.

So congratulations, to all of us. We have made it through!

2 thoughts on “Finalizing my Project

  1. Oh, Alex. Thanks for the shout out. We were all in it together. I’m so glad we’ve done it. We’ve survived. I feel like we are graduating or something. I’m so glad that s^3 is a thing and I can’t wait to see what you accomplish the rest of the semester!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hurray for s^3!! We were all in this together, and I couldn’t be happier to have gone through it with you two. Enjoy the break and the immense positivity being stress-free brings with it, and let’s meet back to do this all over again on the other side!

    Like

Leave a Reply

