Supporting Bullied Students: A Professional View

I previously wrote about bullied students and the ways teachers can become their allies. The websites I used, however, weren’t websites dedicated to a particular professional organization. Today, I searched the National Writing Project’s website for a different insight to how I could be an ally to bullied students in my own classroom. Often times, bullied students have lost their voice because of the treatment they have received. For me, writing is a great way to regain ones voice and to discover your identity as a person. I value creative expression above most things and the National Writing Project offers that to its participants. From this website, I have new ideas of how to be an ally to bullied students.

1.  A child’s individuality is as diverse as the entirety of writing as a genre

The National Writing Project is something that spans all ages of education, from early childhood to the university level. The projects offered through this program/organization focus on creating an individuals writing identity, which is just a brief aspect of what can compose a student’s identity. As an educator, I can provide options a bullied student can focus on when reclaiming themselves and their voices. This is necessary for a child when they feel helpless or silenced.

2. What works for one, won’t always work for another

As I mentioned before, writing is extremely diverse, just like human beings are. There is no one solution that can be applied to everyone. The multitude of projects that can be found on the National Writing Project’s website model thing. As an ally to students, I would be able to work with an individual, one-on-one, to find a project that best suits them. If a student want to journal, I would provide the resources necessary for them to begin, just as I would if a student wanted to write an informative essay about their experiences

3. Give the student a voice

Both of my previous points focus on individuality. This is the largest takeaway from the website I browsed. One such example was a teen magazine produced for teens, by teens. Another was a month long novel project for elementary school children. Regardless, these projects gave a voice to the students that partook in them. Writing is all about the expression of the author. For a student to move beyond the experience of being bullied, it is important that they feel they are being heard. Even if they are the only one that ever reads their own writing, they are still putting their voice onto paper. This gives them the ability to move forward and be heard.

Overall, this professional website just furthered my understanding of the ways I can support students that have been bullied and need an ally. It is important that I have discovered more solutions and ways I can be that ally to a student who needs it.

One thought on “Supporting Bullied Students: A Professional View

  1. I think that your 3 take aways about supporting bullied students are as solid as it gets. So many students are affected by bullying and I think it is so important to get out there and take a stand against it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

